Skip to content ↓
Ashcroft Technology Academy

Ashcroft Technology Academy

Years 9, 10 and 11

Opportunities are encouraged across the curriculum for students to develop study skills, and to engage in active and independent learning.

Students in Years 9, 10 and 11 follow courses which lead to GCSE qualifications.  It is our policy that all students should study English, Maths, French, Geography or History and double-certificate Science. 

We are also very pleased to be offering the BTEC First Award In Engineering. BTEC courses are prevocational and based on occupational sectors. BTEC courses are different from GCSEs in many ways, the main one being the style of assessment. GCSE assessment is traditionally based on end of course examinations whereas BTEC assessment is mainly portfolio based where students develop their understanding of the vocational context. The BTEC in Engineering provides an appropriate progression route to BTEC National Diploma or to more general A levels in Design Technology.

Religious Studies or Citizenship is a core subject for all students at GCSE level.  In one double lesson per week we encourage philosophical debate on moral and ethical issues which engages our large multi faith community.  Students also follow a Personal, Social, Health and Citizenship programme which reflects the Academy's multi-cultural aims and ethos.  This is delivered through one CPSE lesson per week, form tutors and assemblies.   As part of this, students will have a work experience placement in Year 10.

A significant number of our students are fluent in another world language, either because they speak this language at home or because they have spent part of their childhood outside of the UK.  These students are included in our comprehensive ‘Community Languages' programme which provides them with the opportunity of sitting GCSE and A level qualifications in this language.

The way in which the teaching time is divided amongst the different subjects is indicated in the chart below (the Year 11 allocation is different to the Year 9 and 10 allocation).

 KS4 Curriculum Overviews